Sorry, your browser does not support JavaScript! ICMSSR


Interagency Council for Advancing Meteorological Services


interdepartmental committee for meteorological services and supporting research

ICMSSR Purpose

ICMSSR Charter

The Interdepartmental Committee for Meteorological Services and Supporting Research (ICMSSR) is the primary Executive-level management body of the Federal coordinating structure. ICMSSR provides advice to OFCM, implements FCMSSR policies, and oversees the committees and working groups that address the full range of meteorological services and supporting research.

ICMSSR comprises representatives of the 15 Federal agencies that engage in meteorological activities or supporting research, have a major need for meteorological services, or set policy and direction for such services and research. These 15 agencies are the Departments of Agriculture (USDA), Commerce (DOC), Defense (DOD), Energy (DOE), Homeland Security (DHS), the Interior (DOI), State (DOS), and Transportation (DOT); the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), and Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC); and OMB and the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

The ICMSSR Chair rotates on an annual basis among the ICMSSR Principal Members. The OFCM serves as the Secretariat for Federal Meteorological Coordination providing management and administrative continuity for the FCMSSR, ICMSSR, and all elements of the Federal Weather Enterprise Coordinating Infrastructure.

ICMSSR Meetings

The ICMSSR meets four times a year to implement the FCMSSR's policies.