Sorry, your browser does not support JavaScript! Committee for Research and Innovation


Interagency Council for Advancing Meteorological Services


Committee for Research and Innovation

Committee on Research and Innovation

The Committee on Research and Innovation coordinates an Earth system approach to advance meteorological services including definition of research topics, community engagement, coordination among research organizations, engagement of multi-sector enterprise to maximize technological innovation, creation of new modalities/processes/efficiencies, building collaborations, and pursuing frontier capabilities.

Committee on Research and Innovation Leadership

Co-chairs of the Committee on Research and Innovation:

Name Agency Agency Title
Stan Benjamin DoC Senior Scientist for Advanced Modeling
Chris Ekstrom DoD Deputy Oceanographer for the Navy and Technical Director for the Oceanographer of the Navy
Gary Geernaert DoE Director, Earth and Environmental System Sciences Division
Jack Kaye NASA Associate Director for Research of the Earth Science Division, Science Mission Directorate

Relevant documents

To view this PDF file, Adobe Acrobat Reader is needed. Click on the following link to go to Adobe's website,

Earth System Predictability Research and Development Strategic Framework and Roadmap, October 2020